top of page

My work aims to push back on an increasingly fast paced, commercialized and tech centered world by highlighting things of beauty and craftsmanship of times past. Most of the subjects I choose to paint show my fascination with industrial arts and typography of the early 20th century.


Each art piece is first hand drawn with pencil on canvas and then painted slowly with acrylic paints, layer by layer. The time intensive painting process I use reflects the ideals of patience and thoughtful observation. I gained these values during my time studying illustration and jewelry making in Italy. This cross-cultural experience gave me a unique perspective on art and has become the basis for my work. 


I grew up in Seoul, South Korea and spent five years studying art, jewelry design and illustration in Florence, Italy. I have a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in graphic design from California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo. I currently live in Walnut Creek with my husband and daughters.

What made you decide to become an artist?  After high school I was fortunate to have the opportunity to study art and design in Florence, Italy. Although my major in college was graphic design and I have several years of work experience as a graphic designer, I have always had fond memories of making art (and design) with other mediums besides a computer. I wanted to get back to creating art using my hand the way I learned in art school in Italy. During my maternity leave I decided to become a fulltime artist/mom and I have had so much fun ever since!


What are the best and worst parts of being an artist?  The best part is the freedom to manage my work hours, pick a theme, media and style. The worst part is it is hard to stay disciplined with all that freedom!


What are some interesting tidbits about you and your art?  I only work under natural sunlight. I don’t like to draw or paint under any kind of lamp or light. It feels like any kind of artificial light adds color to my vision, so I naturally work more hours during summer time than in the winter months.


What are your favorite things to do when not making art?  Swimming, dancing with my two daughters, cooking a gourmet Italian dish and enjoying it with a nice Chianti.


© 2020 by SOONOAK WOOD STUDIO. All rights reserved.

bottom of page